Week 13: Final Week and the addon is here…. :)

Hey Guys,

The final stretch of GSoC is here. The “pencils down” date is up in a couple of days and my Blender Script is finally up as an addon. So ya, it feels really exciting to have been able to code through summer and actually create an addon for PySoy in Blender.
So this week according to my timeline I am supposed to scrub code, write test cases and improve documentation. So ya its time to wrap up ! 😀

Well this update is quite simple, just putting all my work into a script and packaging it into an addon. The addon does 3 things basically:

  1. The Server: The Server runs in the Blender Side where it reads all the mesh related data- vertices ,coordinates, faces, wireframe graph about all I have been telling in my previous posts and sends this to the pickle.
  2. The Pickle: The pickle is the interesting part it gets all these data and serializes it and stores it into a file *.pik.
  3. The Client: The Client is called after serializing of the Blender data from the server as a subprocess and it runs the pysoy side where it reads this data and de-serializes it and re-creates these meshes using PySoy API.

All the above 3 things are packaged into a single module and created as an addon which when clicked in Blender creates its equivalent in PySoy and all the data is stored. So this is it, the final product is here the “Blender Tool for PySoy”.

This is a very elegant and simple tool with loads of scope for improvement, for a Tool created from scratch this project has come quite far and the ride has been very enthralling and I must say I got to learn many things, both in Blender and in PySoy which are two really wonderful opensource projects, I should be calling it softwares now because they have become very huge. Blender doesn’t even get funding anymore from GSoC programme because they have become that famous and that big and get funding from many other sources. PySoy is undergoing rapid development through the years but is still young compared to Blender.

So ya, I think this might be my final post for Google Summer of Code 2k15 with monsoon taking over :P, I might be doing minor fixes and creating documentation for the next week. For all those who have been with me through this entire journey directly or indirectly, Thank you. Rahul Dev and Ravi, my close friends who have been my 24×7 tech support through out GSoC without whom I wouldn’t have come so far, thank you very much guys :).

The Source can be found here:
git: https://github.com/codesavory/blendsoy_plugin_v2
hg: http://hg.pysoy.org/pysoy/file/b2c304746c46/plugins/blender2k15
Take a look at the addon: 

YouCreateYourCode,
CodeSAvory 😉

Leave a comment