Week12: My most Happy Update :)

Hey Guys,

I must say this post is my most happiest post with regard to my GSoC! My GSoC is coming to an end in a couple of weeks and its been quite a ride. This last week has been some of the worst times I ever had, mainly because I crashed my computer 😦
I cannot regret more the loss of something very close to me, most important hand picked data, all my softwares, my dual boot, my setup for GSoC and even more. It all happened because of some buggy Ubuntu14.04.0, that released a year back, which I installed to check the compatibility of my current project. Well enough of the sad part. You must be wondering what is the Happy part ? Well, the happy part is I managed to put back a new Ubuntu14.04.3 which is really nice and managed to re-setup my environment and fixed some of the major bugs mentioned in my previous post.

The whole Idea behind the Google Summer of Code is to make us write some good quality software and get to learn loads on the way. My recent commit is updated with couple of most important things:
1. Understanding Memory Access Time: The previous logic was entirely written using files for reasons unknown(mainly because they were really easy to use), but then when trying to render some big models, the access time to each and every-time access a file stored in Secondary storage is a very high overhead. So I re-wrote the entire code base to using data structures because this is created in RAM which we all know is very fast – mainly arrays and hash maps implementation using arrays, this considerably decreased the running time of my program.
2. General Mesh Creation: It is always good to start with a particular case but when the size of the problem becomes big, writing for all the cases becomes really tough. So it is always important to find the general solution. So finding the general mesh formation using 3-vertices was a very important part aswell.

There are still some reasons due to which Blender Crashes when we run the script multiple times. This seems very low level since traceback and log files say that the cause could be with OpenGL and Display Buffer. So looking to find what is causing this problem and finding ways to fix it.

Get the Source Code here: https://github.com/codesavory/blendsoy_plugin_v2
Visually what happens:

Enjoy Life 😉
codeSAvory

2 thoughts on “Week12: My most Happy Update :)

Leave a comment